National Parks of England

UK National Park England is home to two thirds of all national parks in the United Kingdom. As many as 10 of total 15 national parks of the United Kingdom are located in England.

Here are all 10 National Parks of England arranged according to year of establishment:

Peak District, established in 1951. The park that covers 1,438 square kilometres of an upland area in central and northern England was the first to be designated as national park in the United Kingdom. Most of the National Park is located in northern Derbyshire but it also extends into West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, Staffordshire, Cheshire and Greater Manchester.

Lake District, established in 1951. Like its name suggests, this National Park is renowned for spectacular landscape and abundance of lakes. With an area of 2,192 square kilometres, the Lake District is the largest national park of England and second largest national park in the United Kingdom. It is located in North West England in the county of Cumbria.

Dartmoor, established in 1951. An area of moorland covering an area of 954 square kilometres is best known for its granite hilltops, rich fauna and flora as well as archaeological finds. It is located in South West England in the county of Devon.

North York Moors, established in 1952. This national park encompasses one of the largest heather moorlands in the United Kingdom and covers an area of 1,436 square kilometres. It is located in North East England in the county of North Yorkshire.

Yorkshire Dales, established in 1954. The park encompasses an upland area of 1,769 square kilometres and spans over three counties of Northern England – North Yorkshire, West Yorkshire and Cumbria. Like other national parks of England, Yorkshire Dales is marked by breathtaking scenery.

Exmoor, established in 1954. One of two national parks in South West England covers an area of 683 square kilometres. It is located in the counties of Devon and Somerset with nearly two thirds of the park lying in the latter. The National Park is home to some of the rarest and scarcest wildlife species including the so-called Beast of Exmoor, a large cat the existence of which, however, remains a matter of debate.

Northumberland, established in 1956. With an area of over 1030 square kilometres, the Northumberland National Park covers roughly one quarter of the county of Northumberland. In addition to comprising a diverse natural landscape, the National Park is also home to Roman remains the most notable of which is the Hadrian’s Wall.

The Broads, established in 1988. This national park is dominated by lakes and rivers which are mostly navigable but it is also famous for its windmills and windpumps. It is located in East of England in the counties of Norfolk and Suffolk and covers and area of 303 square kilometres.

New Forest, established in 2005. Picturesque landscape marked by impressive woodlands, unique heathland and breathtaking coastline is the best way to describe the New Forest National Park. It covers an area of 580 square kilometres and lies in South East England in the counties of Hampshire and Wiltshire.

South Downs, established in 2009. The youngest of all national parks of England covers an area of more than 1,600 square kilometres of unique landscape which, however, is also home to over 100,000 people. It is located in South England in the counties of Hampshire, Cornwall, West Sussex, East Sussex, Winchester, and Brighton and Hove.